Questions & Answers

Remember/Save detachment of MIDI editor

+7 votes
184 views
asked Sep 24, 2020 in MIDI Editing by fl16 (1,090 points)
retagged Nov 24, 2020 by fl16
For some of us (keyboard players specifically) it only makes sense to have the MIDI editor detached and maximized to be able to see 5 octaves, however Studio One doesn't remember that your MIDI editor was detached in your last session. It only remembers  it, if you save the project with the MIDI editor open. If you save the project after closing the MIDI editor because, let's say, you have only one screen and you need to adjust gain levels in the mixing window, you are screwed....

So almost every time that we open Studio one we have to click on the arrow to re-detach the MIDI editor.

Please Presonus, save us from this little inconvenience.

13 Answers

0 votes
answered Sep 24, 2020 by colinotoole (6,610 points)
I must say, I don't get the behaviour you describe. After saving a song and reopening it, my editor is exactly where and how I left it even if it it had been closed before saving, say, to access the mixer. {hand on chin emoji - LOL}.
0 votes
answered Sep 24, 2020 by fl16 (1,090 points)
edited Sep 24, 2020 by fl16

Oh lucky you!

I noticed that you said though "closing and reopening a song" while this occurs when I close Studio One and reopen it.

Here's a video that shows how it doesn't work in my system (Studio One 5.0.2, Windows 10, 64bit):

https://user.fm/files/v2-a47601f9e7211120eeb10eedf0f41ef1/MIDI%20editor%20detachment%20not%20saved.mp4

0 votes
answered Sep 24, 2020 by colinotoole (6,610 points)
Hi there. I've just replicated your steps and ..... it's the same for me as before: the window stays where and how it was. Very strange.

Some differences (but I don't think they should matter): You're on v5: I'm on v4; I'm on Windows 7, you 10.

How can I make a video like yours? I'll make one if you are interested.

Cheers.
0 votes
answered Sep 24, 2020 by fl16 (1,090 points)
edited Sep 24, 2020 by fl16
Interesting. I used a commercial screen recorder (http://www.zdsoft.com/downloads.html). I don't know if there is a demo you can use for free.
0 votes
answered Sep 24, 2020 by colinotoole (6,610 points)
Hi. I've now made a video for you; but I've no clue how to post it in the answer - LOL.
0 votes
answered Sep 24, 2020 by fl16 (1,090 points)
Maybe use https://wetransfer.com/ to upload and link it?
0 votes
answered Sep 24, 2020 by colinotoole (6,610 points)
Hi.

Ok: So, you'll have to download it from this link (it's called 'test'):

https://we.tl/t-TGbOWVdEKc

Let me know your thoughts on it.

Cheers.
+1 vote
answered Sep 24, 2020 by fl16 (1,090 points)
It looks like a bug in Studio One 5 then. I've reported this in a support ticket and I was told they will pass it to the Development Team!
0 votes
answered Sep 24, 2020 by colinotoole (6,610 points)
Cool, thanks for letting me know. Hope it gets sorted.
0 votes
answered Sep 25, 2020 by Lukas Ruschitzka (179,140 points)
Indeed this sounds like a bug. Hopefully, this can be localized and the developers can take a look at it.
0 votes
answered Nov 24, 2020 by fl16 (1,090 points)

Now Presonus says that it is not a bug but a feature request so I guess that we will have to vote for it and wait.

(Well, in my case, I'm just going to switch back to Cubase. Good luck.)

Hello,

Yes.  I and the other rep thought that it was a bug as well.   QA wrote back when we reported it saying otherwise, that they do not consider it a bug, but it would be a feature request.

Best Regards,

Lawrence
Technical Support Rep

0 votes
answered Jan 1 by richardlederer1 (1,400 points)
The same happens to me as well (Windows 10) and it's annoying. I would tag your comment as a bug and not just a feature request because this is not how other DAWs behave.
0 votes
answered Jan 18 by colinotoole (6,610 points)
To the o.p.

OMG! As I had said above, the editor window stayed exactly where it was even after closing - using Studio One 4 Pro.

I have not long upgraded to version 5 and guess what: The editor window no longer stays where it was after closing!

So, I have 2 screens and used to leave the console (F3) permanently open and maximised on the second screen. I had set the editor also maximised on the second screen. So, if ever I wanted the editor, all I had to do was press F2 to open it and F2 to put it away again; and all the tine, the console would be ever present: A one button operation i.e. F2.

Now, since upgrading to ver 5, everytime I reopen a song and want to use the editor, it is always docked on the home screen and I have to undock it and maximise it everytime!

I am now as annoyed as you and simply cannot understand why Presonus would change this. Very, very annoying.

Cheers.
...