I hope I can help you. If you have a look at the download page and the different versions of Universal Control/UC Surface over the years, you probably can see where you started and which updates you made and which ones not. As there have been major changes in firmware and software, it has become known that normal upgrades fail, especially when two of the critical "steps" are crossed. The result is that "funny things" happen when using the board...
The only thing you can and neet to do is a factory reset with the option card plugged out, which will renew ANY setting of your mixer. But it will also delete all your own presets and scenes. You need to save them on a computer (just store them in UC Surface of your computer; your computer is called "local") in order to recall them after the reset.
Here is a detailed description, how to do the fatory reset: