Questions & Answers

Add option to delete unused files from a project

+40 votes
1,184 views
asked Jun 27, 2016 in Studio One Feature Requests by jarrettrenshaw1 (690 points)
Here are a couple of ways this could be done:

1. A checkbox for "Save media with project" in the Save As dialog. That way you can save the project to a new folder with only the files in use, then go back and delete the old folder or files.

2. Better: Add to the commands in File Management in the Pool tab a new command to "Show Unused Files," and then be able to opt to delete them (move to recycle bin in Windows). Currently you can only remove them from the pool.

2 Answers

0 votes
answered Jul 5, 2016 by Skip Jones (161,000 points)

Thank you for the feature request. 

If anyone else agrees or disagrees, then please vote it up, or down. 

To vote:

In agreement click on the little blue triangle pointing up.

In disagreement click on the little blue triangle pointing down.

The developers pay close attention to those that are voted on the most. 

You are allowed one vote. 

Just viewing and agreeing but not clicking on the vote does not help the issue. 

Please click on one or the other. 

+3 votes
answered Jul 12, 2016 by DominicB (11,510 points)

1. Currently you can choose the option to "Save to New Folder". This will create a new Song folder with a new .Song file and copy all of the used audio for that song to a new media folder. This is great for ensuring that all relevant audio is contained with a Song folder before you transfer it to a new computer or send to a friend. 

2. Also, in the Studio One "Pool," you can choose the option "Remove Unused Files." Within that dialog box is a check box to "Delete Files Permanently." This will delete the unused files permanently from the hard drive. See Screen Cap below. 

...