Questions & Answers

Bought Studio One 3 Upgrade -Do I uninstall Studio One 2 first?

0 votes
511 views
asked Aug 22, 2017 in Studio One 3 by Analyst (150 points)
Pardon if the answer is out there. I searched but couldn't find an answer.

I currently run Studio One 2. I purchased Studio One 3 from the 'Upgrade/Crossgrade' area of the website. I started the installer and it pointed itself at a new 'Studio One 3' directory.
 

I wondering what the best method if it's best to uninstall the old version or if there's some magic involved that will allow the installer to see the old version and vst directories etc. If the new version will stand alone, It might be best to uninstall the old and clean up the old directories. I just thought I'd see what advice the community had.

Thanks!

2 Answers

0 votes
answered Aug 23, 2017 by lawrencefarr (221,410 points)
 
Best answer
Hi,

There's no need to uninstall Studio One 2, unless you simply don't need it installed anymore.

Studio One 3 will install separately from Studio One 2 and it will try to import your settings when it installs if you tell it to.
0 votes
answered Mar 21, 2018 by mBrane (520 points)
The other answer sez that you will be asked to import your settings when it installs.  That is not correct.  Actually, it won't ask you to import until the program is run for the first time.  Hope this helps.
...