Questions & Answers

Deleting a bar or bars moves the rest of the track left .. how to NOT do this???

0 votes
769 views
asked Sep 26, 2018 in Studio One 4 by clivelane1 (150 points)

I'm a new user (obviously) and I realize this is the MOST basic question ever but it's absolutely making me crazy. When I delete a bar or bars of a track, whether with CUT, DEL, or the eraser tool, all the rest of the track shifts left to fill the now-empty space.I don't want that! 

This is in Artist. 

Online I found this - I am trying to get it to work the way it describes in "normal operation" but it absolutely does not for me. HELP!!

In normal operation, if you delete a Part (or a section of a Part) from the timeline, all other Parts on the timeline remain in position, and a space is left where the deleted Part was. If you'd like the Parts ahead of the deleted region to move backward to fill that space, say, when editing spoken word content where gaps are undesirable, enable Ripple Edit mode. To do so, press the Ripple Edit button in the toolbar, which looks like this:

1 Answer

+1 vote
answered Sep 28, 2018 by PreSonuSupt4 (220,910 points)
 
Best answer

Turn off Ripple Edit.  See the reference manual section Editing > Common Editing Actions and scroll down the page to Ripple Edit.

...