Questions & Answers

There should be a way to save user layer in scenes, not project

+20 votes
367 views
asked Jun 16, 2021 in StudioLive Series Feature Requests by michaelreust1 (2,470 points)
Been working on fine tuning some scenes this week while I've got some downtime, and noticed something SUPER annoying just now. Apparently the user layer doesn't save per scene, but it saves per project. What I had been doing is saving a project as a venue to keep patching and speaker tuning, for venues I frequently return to, whose existing PAs I patch the board into, and then loading bands as scenes inside the project, (I deal with many of the same acts repeatedly) and then building the user layer as necessary for that band.Combined with the fact there's no way to easily clear user layer channels, (it's super clunky when you've got to hold buttons for EACH channel you want to clear, and that seems like a pretty big oversight) 1- There should be a button or button combination to wipe an entire user layer all at once. 2- The user layer should save PER SCENE.

2 Answers

+4 votes
answered Jun 18, 2021 by jonnydoyle (403,240 points)
 
Best answer

Thank you for the feature request. 

If anyone else agrees or disagrees, please VOTE!

The developers pay close attention to those that are voted on the most. 

You are allowed one vote. You can change your vote later if you choose.

(Here's some helpful info on how to use the voting system)

Please vote the original question / feature request. 

Please DO NOT Vote on THIS response!

+3 votes
answered Feb 24, 2022 by joshrempel (1,020 points)

I would agree. I think an ok workflow for resetting the user layer could be

  1. Hold down the [User] button for 2 seconds (or whatever the default is)
  2. A menu shows up (simply so that if there is another feature to develop later, you have it ready)
  3. Have a button that says (Clear User Layer)
  4. Request "Are you sure? (Y/N)" and then done. 
...