Questions & Answers

Disable auto expanding takes layers when recording

+4 votes
475 views
asked Nov 30, 2016 in Studio One Feature Requests by davidwilliamson1 (160 points)
When record is pressed, the "takes" layers automatically open to show the user all previous takes.  There does not seem to be a way to disable this.  Storing those takes is a good thing, but being forced to see every one of them every time you hit record is a show stopper when recording multiple tracks.  This is especially terrible when recording numerous tracks at once, like drums for example.  I cannot record with a client looking over my shoulder, as it is quite disorienting and completely unnecessary.  If the layers would just stay hidden, in the rare case that I need to refer to a previous take, it would be no problem to access the 'previous takes' layers manually, the same way I would access automation layers.  

This has been a problem with recording in Studio One for years and I know several folks have stopped recording with S1 because of it.  MMartin, BLBCrisp, Langster and several others have moved to recording with programs other than Studio One specifically because of this issue.  I realize anecdotal discussion of a couple folks is not a fair statistical sample, and it's possible normal home users don't care about this.  I suspect, however, this problem keeps S1 from being a favorite DAW in some multi-tracking studios.  I'm finishing up two albums in Studio One 3 right now, and am beginning a new project in ProTools (rather than Studio One) because I don't want another confused client looking over my shoulder when multi-tracking.  Also, I'm tired of being so disoriented by a mountain of previous takes being shown to me every time I hit record.

The forum about this problem (that was active from 2014 to 2016) was locked and a broken link was left as a detour.  I take it Presonus has spoken?

3 Answers

0 votes
answered Dec 11, 2016 by matthewgorman (51,500 points)
Thank you for your input into the development of Studio One.
+1 vote
answered Jul 14, 2017 by williamcook1 (1,390 points)
+1000.  no reason not to have the option to disable this, and it is VERY annoying to have to collapse the takes on multi-mic instruments after every take.  If you're tracking drums, this easily pushes most of your tracks off the screen where you can no longer monitor them, and I agree that it makes it disorienting.
0 votes
answered Oct 27, 2017 by shoishikura (170 points)
+1!!!  would love for this option.
...