Questions & Answers

Why do recording files done in Studio One 3.5 not open after the upgrade to Studio One 4.

0 votes
712 views
asked Jun 3, 2018 in Studio One 4 by jeromeperian (260 points)
Greetings,

I just upgraded my Studio One version from 3.5 to 4.0. The upgrade went in without a problem. I opened songs I was still in process of working on, and they opened and played with the 4 upgrade fine. I added a track to two songs, and saved them. When I tried to re open either of them, I get an error message saying the song is from an old format and is not compatible? By appearance, it looks like any song I did before the studio one 4 upgrade is now not able to be added to and then saved, and still be useable. How do I finish projects that I was still working on? Shouldn't Studio One 4 be compatible with it's earlier counterpart, especially the most recent, 3.5?

Thank you graciously

Jerry

2 Answers

0 votes
answered Jun 4, 2018 by vasilykorytov (6,850 points)
selected Jun 25, 2018 by benpierce
 
Best answer
I believe it was stated that Studio One 4 is not backwards compatible with 3.x. This is somewhat expected due to Chord Track and Impact XT that are not present in 3.x and probably will not be there.

Did it warn you on project save that you won't be able to open it older versions? When they introduced a new format for Studio One 3.5, Studio One raised a dialog like "you will not be able to open this in earlier Studio One, cancel/continue anyway" upon save.

P.S. If I got you wrong and you have problems opening a 3.5 project in 4 this must be a bug and should be reported.
0 votes
answered Jun 4, 2018 by jeromeperian (260 points)
Greetings and Good Evening,

What you described is exactly what was happening. Thank you graciously. I did not get a warning message, just the message that meant I was trying to hop backward from 4.0 to 3.5. I didn't really understand that but I do now. When the upgrade was loaded, I thought it would be like iTunes if I updated my software; the old version would be married into the new version and there would then be just one. Not the case with DAW software apparently. I still have 3.5 and had to take it out of my tool tray, and put 4 in its place. Everything I was working on so far as songs were all there as I had left them prior to the upgrade. Thanks a lot for your answer. I'm 59 and about a little more than a year into computer based recording. Back in the 70's our basement tapes were made using two reel to reel decks. Things sure have changed. Thank you again for your answer and your help.

JP
...