Questions & Answers

How do I backup my studiolive series III board so I can transfer ALL info to a NEW studiolive series III board?

0 votes
121 views
asked Jul 17 in StudioLive Series III by joeylowry1 (150 points)
How do I backup my studiolive series III board so I can transfer ALL info to a NEW studiolive series III board and how do I do the transfer?

3 Answers

0 votes
answered Jul 17 by luketraxler (460 points)
 
Best answer

First, connect your current Series III Console to Universal Control (USB or Ethernet)

Once your mixer shows in Universal Control, click on it.

Click the Settings gear in the top-right corner of "Mixer-view"

Find and click on the "Backup" Tab

>Click on "Backup" and you'll see a file in the backup list with the date when the backup is completed.

*Keep in mind that the Backup only saves Projects, Scenes, and Presets. If you have not saved your current settings to an actual Project/Scene/etc then those settings will not be saved in the backup.*

Disconnect your current console, and then connect the NEW console.

Open the new console's settings and enter the access code if needed.

Navigate back to the "Backup" tab.

Highlight the Backup file your recently created.

Click "Restore"

You'll see Universal Control perform the restore and your old mixer's settings will now be on your new Series III Mixer.

0 votes
answered Jul 17 by wahlerstudios (88,800 points)

There has always been a backup function for all generations of StudioLive mixers, but there has never been a detailed explanation, what a backup does and what all it includes. This leaves the question open if your new board is able to work with files from another/older board. In the current product range only SL 32 and SL 32S would be fully "compatible". Mostly compatible are the 32 channel, dual-core consoles and rack mixers.

The easiest way to transfer data (projects, scenes, FAT channel presets etc.) is to copy them to UC Surface on a computer or tablet ("local") and from there to the new mixer. Changing a board is always a good reason to evaluate what is important to keep. ;-)

0 votes
answered Jul 19 by wapperdude (2,460 points)
There's another backup issue to be aware of.  Before upgrading, it's wise to backup first.  That way, if you need to restore to a previous system version you won't be stuck because of compatibility issues.
...