Questions & Answers

Auto play for browser / previewing files with keyboard shortcuts

+57 votes
3,192 views
asked Jan 20, 2016 in Studio One Feature Requests by tedannemann (1,420 points)

It would be great to have a "permanent" auto play function for the browser. Currently you still have to double click the files every time you access the browser. With the auto play function activated, the selected files should be played back automatically. So one could access the browser via keyboard shortcut and previewing files (audio, midi, musicloops) without using the mouse.

Another option would be to audition files with the left arrow key (= play selected file) on the keyboard (compare Ableton Live).

This topic has already been discussed in this video here: 

12 Answers

+6 votes
answered Jan 21, 2016 by AlexTinsley (924,920 points)
Thanks for the great suggestion.

If anyone else agrees or disagrees please vote on it.
+5 votes
answered Oct 17, 2018 by tomaszszpiner1 (590 points)
Can't believed it's still not there yet. Bump!
+6 votes
answered Nov 2, 2018 by tjsidhu (580 points)
Defo need to sort this! hope they do soon...
+3 votes
answered Jun 3, 2019 by joachimsvare (3,110 points)
We need that! It would create a much smoother workflow.
+4 votes
answered Jun 4, 2019 by chrissederqvist1 (2,420 points)
Yeah, this was one of the things that really surprised me when switching to S1. I thought the browser in Reason was bad, bud it at least had an option to auto-play from the browser even if you click outside the browser and try to preview another loop / file afterwards.

The browser is so poorly implemented! This is obviously an area where S1 needs some improvement.

Would be nice to be able to create named virtual folders with favorites as well, both for plugins, effects, presets, loops and other files.
+4 votes
answered Jan 29, 2020 by dannyjones3 (790 points)
Totally agree...can't believe it's not there already!!!!!
+5 votes
answered Apr 17, 2020 by satybhat (250 points)
Yes. Agreed. Bump
+3 votes
answered Sep 19, 2020 by joachimsvare (3,110 points)
Yes, totally agree!

Bump!

A keyboard shortcut for play and stop in the browser would also be great!
+2 votes
answered Mar 21, 2021 by Dex1 (230 points)
Yes comeone, ather daws have this feat.....

Dont sleep on it!
0 votes
answered Jul 6, 2021 by amahmoud (140 points)
Install the loop cloud plugin from loopmasters web page & open it in your studio one as a plug-in & then let loop cloud plugin scan your loop folder in your hard drive wher you put your loops then the folder will be seen for the loop cloud plugin then you can listen the loops when click them synced with the studio one BPM speed, this is a solution till they fix it in Studio, they need to see how Ableton did it very simple, but I love Studio One 5,3 I switched from Ableton last week & I am very Very Happy.
+1 vote
answered Aug 12, 2022 by jeffstern (640 points)
This should be standard (or an option) in every DAW. Essential if using many one-shot samples in a project. Miss this a lot from my previous DAW.
0 votes
answered Aug 14, 2022 by stuartmurphy (280 points)
PLEASE, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, THAT WOULD BE AMAZING.
...