Questions & Answers

Overwrite Mixdown With The Same Name

+32 votes
295 views
asked Mar 1, 2017 in Studio One Feature Requests by leandrotamayo (3,010 points)
I would love to export my songs and be asked by studio one if i want to overwrite my song if i already have a song with that same name, i dont like it when it renames with a (2) at the end.

6 Answers

+8 votes
answered Mar 1, 2017 by maxstratmann (42,450 points)

Thank you for the feature request. 

If anyone else agrees or disagrees, then please vote it up, or down. 

To vote:

In agreement click on the little blue triangle pointing up.

In disagreement click on the little blue triangle pointing down.

The developers pay close attention to those that are voted on the most. 

You are allowed one vote. 

Just viewing and agreeing but not clicking on the vote does not help the issue. 

Please click on one or the other. 

+9 votes
answered Jun 12, 2018 by sangamc (840 points)
I would like to see this option as well.

It would be nice if you could permanently choose the folder your mixdowns go to instead of the song folder as well
+4 votes
answered Jan 5, 2020 by stefanschulz1 (460 points)
This really is so annoying to always have to delete/rename mixdowns. If it is an issue of backwards compatibility, what about introducing a general option to switch between behaviours? This way, you could also track whether people use one or the other.
+1 vote
answered Dec 30, 2020 by richardlederer1 (2,480 points)
I really miss this feature since I switched from Cubase and Reaper to Studio One. Normally I export my mixdown to my DropBox directory so that I can later listen to it on the DropBox directory of my smartphone and set this file as offline available. Since I use Studio One I always have to select my DropBox path again before exporting, then have to delete the last exported mixdown, rename the new one to the name of the old one, and after that the new mixdown appears like a new file and I have again to mark it as offline available on my smartphone.
+4 votes
answered Jan 28 by andreashernitscheck (600 points)
A checkbox would be nice to

[x] overwrite existing mixdown
0 votes
answered Mar 13 by roysonboleh (1,030 points)
I came here to post this same issue.

I come from Reaper where they use the same filename (which BTW, they wonderfully allow you to build your own default name using "wildcards" such as date, time, file type, project name, BPM, sample rate, bit depth, and many other parameters) and after you export, if it's the same filename, it asks if you want to overwrite before proceeding. How perfect. Now I won't have a bunch of old versions I don't need. Granted, it can be nice to have old versions and it's such a bad thing but it would be better to give up the option whether we want to collect all these and go back to delete them later or just not even deal with them at all--especially when you know 100% you have no need or intention to keep the previous export.
...