Questions & Answers

Why is it that updates cannot preserve user made presets

0 votes
278 views
asked Jun 1, 2017 in Studio One Feature Requests by steviemasters (3,040 points)
Hi, been using Studio One 3 now long enough to have 2 updates which firstly I will say are appreciated.

My one concern is that each time I have updated, twice now I have lost all of my user presets for plugins, mixer channel presets, shortcuts, and macros and all of the outboard gear I had setup had to be edited and linked up again as well.

I find it counter productive to have to keep recreating these and having to go through the process of reconnecting midi devices (I have allot of outboard connected) for the sake of an update, can't Presonus preserve and/or copy user made presets and device settings when doing an update?

Why are the updates so destructive to workflow?  I find it a complete waste of time to keep having to go through this process of customizing S1 just to have to do it again at another update.

3 Answers

0 votes
answered Jun 1, 2017 by AlexTinsley (924,900 points)
 
Best answer

Thank you for the feature request. 

If anyone else agrees or disagrees, please VOTE!

The developers pay close attention to those that are voted on the most. 

You are allowed one vote. You can change your vote later if you choose.

(Here's some helpful info on how to use the voting system)

Please vote the original question / feature request. 

Please DO NOT Vote on THIS response!

0 votes
answered Jun 2, 2017 by niles (54,610 points)
Thats not expected behavior. Make sure not to store any user settings in the Studio One application folder.
0 votes
answered Jun 9, 2017 by steviemasters (3,040 points)
Just a logical suggestion, and thanks I will make a point to store outside that default location moving forward.  Please note however, that when the presets were created it was Studio One that saved to a default location and not myself, maybe it should prompt to have the user create an external folder location.
...