Questions & Answers

Why does Universal Control constantly reset to my last save?

0 votes
353 views
asked Nov 18, 2016 in Classic Mixers by thedavelon (150 points)
I'm trying to figure out why Universal Control constantly resets itself while I'm using it. I have the latest version of Universal Control downloaded, and it doesn't matter which one of my 3 Mac computers I use. I even purchased a new computer (Mac Mini) 2 months ago, and it's fully decked out - 16GB of RAM, 1 TB of flash storage, latest operating system. Still doesn't matter.

What happens is all the names I've given all my channels (and Aux mix's) reset to factory names (channel 1, 2, 3, etc), and all mixer adjustments go back to the last time I saved my scene. Which means I'm constantly trying to save my settings before it resets, so that it resets to where I last had my levels. It's a royal pain and I'm ready to switch brands forever if I can't get this fixed.

I'll take help from anyone who can give it. Thanks!!!

1 Answer

0 votes
answered Nov 19, 2016 by wahlerstudios (63,370 points)
selected Nov 20, 2016 by ghasenbeck
 
Best answer

I hope I can help you. First of all the latest UC version (Universal Control) for the "classic" mixers is 1.7.2 for Mac and PC. You can not use UC Surface, which is for the AI mixers only. And you always need to use matching versions of firmware and software! Here is a page that contains any information you need: http://www.presonus.com/support/downloads/StudioLive-16.4.2. There is the same page for a SL 24.4.2, if you have that mixer.

It is some time ago that I had my "classic" SL mixers, but there is one thing I do remember: Scenes have be be stored on your mixer, not on your computer! This works better and is more reliable. And normally your mixer keeps ALL settings automatically, while an iPad or a computer need permission for that. Have a look at the settings of your SL Remote. Especially "CH RENAME" needs to be enabled! This all is described in the Software manual in chapter 3.7 and especially 3.7.9., if you want to read further.

It should be the way that your mixer starts with the last settings used. This is what the temporary saving is for. What you save in a scene has to be "recalled", if it was changed in between. Saving and recalling from the mixer's menu works always, at least I remember so.

Hopefully this makes you find a solution for your problem.

...