Questions & Answers

what's difference bypass, disable and deactivate

0 votes
717 views
asked Jan 21, 2017 in Studio One 3 by yglee (240 points)
dear service center

here is the video from you guys about new features of SO3.3



first 6mins talking about plugin activation.

while i'm watching this, i can't get the point of that bypass, deactivation and disable

those are so confusing for me. i hope you can help me to get out of it.

im so much happy with presonus's product

thank you very much always.

1 Answer

0 votes
answered Jan 26, 2017 by PreSonuSupt4 (220,900 points)
selected Jan 27, 2017 by yglee
 
Best answer
  • Bypassing 

When a plugin is bypassed it doesn't process audio but it's UI is still active, knobs can be moved and everything else, it just doesn't process any audio. .

  • Deactivating 

When a plugin is deactivated (like turning off it's power switch), it's completely off, doesn't allow changing any parameters, not turned on, doesn't do anything.

  • Disabling

When a plugin is disabled, a placeholder reference is kept for it on the track to enable it later but it's completely removed from memory, releasing any RAM it may have been using when it was loaded in the other two cases above, or in normal activated use.

...