Questions & Answers

How to revert Studio One 3 files back to Studio One 2 Files

0 votes
231 views
asked Jun 15, 2017 in Studio One 2 by theanusomen (150 points)
I recently downloaded a project online and wanted to load it into Studio One 2, unfortunately the format of the project file was set to only open in Studio One 3. My Studio One 3 is the artist version and Studio One 2 is my pro version and I need third party VST's for the project.

Am I screwed or is there a way to revert the newer file?

Also, I have tried redownloading the project file and just opening it in SO2 but still gives me the same message.

2 Answers

0 votes
answered Jun 15, 2017 by AlexTinsley (902,920 points)
 
Best answer
You can go forward (with some caveats) with saved sessions from Version 2 to Version 3, however you cannot go from Version 3 sessions to Version 2. There are differences in the native instruments and effects that will not translate either.

You can upgrade your version of Studio One 2 Pro to version 3, which is the easiest solution.

Or import the stems from your project folder for version 3 (in your My Documents directory) and remix your session in version 2.

However if you open your session from version 2 in version 3, you then run into the issue of VSTs and some native effects and sound libraries being different.
0 votes
answered Jun 16, 2017 by niles (53,840 points)

When you did not save it with Studio One 3.5 (FormatVersion 4) you could try: http://answers.presonus.com//8175/how-to-load-studio-one-3-2-project-files-into-studio-one-2-6?show=8192#a8192

...