Questions & Answers

Keep Solo In Place setting between sessions

0 votes
68 views
asked Jul 6, 2018 in StudioLive Series Feature Requests by yveshaeghen (810 points)
Hallo,

I use my StudioLive series 3 32 in my home studio, in conjunction with S1 for recording. We do rehearsals, recording, playback and mixing/mastering  with it. Except for mixing and mastering I use the console (faders, soloing, muting, DSP, ...), studio one being setup to send unity gain raw audio without any inserts to the S32 tracks. Low latency monitoring is achieved on the SL32 directly. I just have to switch the input sources between 'USB' and 'analog' for recording or playback of a track, and they sound the same because I don't use any S1 inserts before the mixing/mastering stage. The studio monitors are connected to the main output, so I prefer using the 'solo in place' + latch mode.

The most annoying thing though (except for not having pre-insert sends on S1) is that at every boot the SL32 insists on reverting my solo setting to Solo In Place = off. This also kinda messes up all the soloing / muting toggles on channels that were working during the last session.

I understand the danger in using SIP mode in a live situation, and that is an answer I got a year or so ago in a forum. Surely though that is MY responsability as  a user and does not warrant turning off settings that I as a user chose? The console is called Studio-Live, the one should not prevail over the other?

So feature request: retain Solo-In-Place setting after shutdown.

1 Answer

+1 vote
answered Jul 9, 2018 by benpierce (91,570 points)
 
Best answer

Thanks for the feature request!

...